Odds & Ends…

Because I can’t be bothered with writing a real post… After the break…

Odds & Ends…

I start with only the very best of intentions. I conduct research and try to write a fairly comprehensive, well-written blog post. Then a multitude of unfortunate events occur. The result usually melts down to something that resembles this: A half-hearted summary of what I was going to write. Enjoy.

Quantum Conundrum (2012 game) impressions…

I tried playing this game and, for awhile, I did. If you enjoy first-person platforming then you should have no problems with this game. I, on the other hand, do not particularly enjoy first-person platforming. Especially when it is difficult first-person platforming.

To be completely honest, I rather enjoyed a lot of this game and didn’t mind other aspects. The first-person platforming got to me, though. Also, I didn’t think that the new dimension or powers or whatever they were called was all that thrilling; Making things heavy, light and time manipulation just can’t compare with placing doors wherever you want.

Museum of Simulation Technology…

Knowing the game developer Valve, we will never know what “F-Stop” truly was going to be about. However, I’ve got a pretty good guess as to what it might have been and “Museum of Simulation Technology” is as good a guess as any. The game relies upon manipulating objects with “forced perspective”: In essence, you take an object and make it larger or smaller based upon what you compare it to. Making objects larger or smaller is, in essence, the entire point of the early tech demo and there are rough edges aplenty in the demo.

The game is still(!) being worked on but, supposedly, it will be out in some form someday.

Planet Earth II…

I don’t like reality television. It’s not my thing. I’ll watch it when I have to but, if no one forces me to, I would just as soon remain ignorant of it.

Planet Earth II is not reality television. It is as far from reality television as you can get.

Planet Earth II is a BBC documentary series and it is gorgeous. On an HD television, Planet Earth II is as close to being there as you will get without actually being there and, in many cases, even better because being close to animals that can kill you is a bad thing that I would prefer to avoid on a very routine basis.

You should watch Planet Earth II.

Pandora: First Contact (2013 game) impressions…

I am a “Sid Meier’s Alpha Centauri” junkie and giving me this game is like giving me a huge bag of drugs… That turns out to be baking powder.

Seriously.

I so badly wanted to like this game. This game has “You will like me” written all over it for me but the game is so cutthroat to play that it sucks all of the joy out of playing. There is some person who wrote the enemy AI out there on the message boards and he is overjoyed that it is so lethal. Good for that person. I prefer AI that does not kill me within the first five minutes of playing the game. Sorry.

If ever there is a patch that makes this game fun again… I will re-evaluate. Because “Alpha Centauri” is a really fun game to play and this game looks just like that game except that it isn’t fun to play.

That’s it for now. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

