Necrovision (2009 PC game) impressions…

Weird World One in a FPS… After the Break…

Necrovision (2009 PC game) impressions…

World War II was a serious, catastrophic, tragic event. Millions of people were killed. Millions more were injured and displaced. Even today, the scars of those horrific years have yet to heal… So it’s only appropriate that we misappropriate that time period for numerous first-person shooters that involve vampires, werewolves, the undead and other “dieselpunk” inventions involving bolts of electricity and the occult.

Yet World War II lacks a certain steampunk innocence… It has radar and modern-ish airplanes. It has, of course, the atomic bomb.

In the last few years, World War I, the prequel to World War I, has been getting a bit more attention from people who want to “weird” up our history with the usual vampires, werewolves, the undead and other fantastical “steampunk” inventions. It makes one wonder how people will think of the 1990s – 2010s and what silly “Internet-punk” inventions (I’m already guessing virtual reality and cryogenics) we were supposed to have had.

“Necrovision” is a 2009 first-person shooter where you are an American volunteer fighting for the allies (pro-tip: World War I often gets short shrift from America because America didn’t enter the war until the final stages of the conflict). Of course, it wouldn’t be a “weird” World War I title unless something odd, such as the undead appearing, occurred.

Installation went relatively flawlessly although I’m a little puzzled about the CD key since it never asked it of me; Perhaps it’s only for multi-player? The version 1.2 patch update caused my anti-virus software to go ballistic so I’m playing whatever version came out of the box.

After only 2 or so hours of playing, it feels like a completely adequate first-person shooter. There’s a definite feel of claustrophobic trench warfare where your every move could be your last because of an opportunistic sniper or soldier. The graphics are fine for what they were going for. I’ve read of people complaining that the beginning moment of the game are a bit too automated and they do have a valid argument to make where the game goes from cinematic, a brief bout where you control your character and than back to a long cinematic. Personally, I didn’t mind it too much but I can definitely see their point in complaining.

Perhaps my largest gripe is that there isn’t a lot of “tutorial” introduction. There’s not a lot of “crouch under the beam” or “jump over this barrier” type of introduction to test out all of your maneuverability and give you a feel for the game before being thrown into full-fledged combat. I know of people who like not having a large introduction; I guess that, for this game, I’m not one of them. There’s already been occurrences where I’ve missed secrets because I didn’t know that you could shoot cords and climb up them… Silly me!

Perhaps another gripe of mine is that the game is a bit too quick introducing the weird elements of the game. It’s not long before you start seeing odd visions and the undead rising. Patient, this game is not.

Other then that, though, I am having a good time with the game even though I ended in what I presumed to be an “arena fight” where you’re boxed in and forced to fight a group of enemies because… You know… Challenge! Ugh. I’m not a fan of that tactic at all.

We’ll see how the game progresses.

Leave a Reply

