The First…Of the Year…

Why this part of the year always sucks… After the Break…

The First…Of the Year…

Happy New Year. I guess.

Given that the alternative is eternal rest in a box or a ceramic vase, being alive to see another year isn’t so bad.

It does have it’s drawbacks, though.

I partially despise these first few months of the year, though, for a very peculiar reason.

It’s not because of the cold weather (although I don’t enjoy that a lot).

It’s not because it’s the end of the American Football season (I’m not a huge football fan but I do enjoy it when the local team wins).

It’s not because it’s time to start procrastinating on paying my taxes (Which I don’t… I mean, I don’t procrastinate in paying my taxes as opposed to not paying my taxes).

The reason why this part of the year always sucks is that the media enjoys with extra relish the fact that they get to report on the “first” of everything in the year, as in:

  • The first celebrity wedding of the year.
  • The first big political scandal of the year.
  • The first major box office flop of the year.
  • The first major sports upset of the year.

…And so on and so on and so forth. The first sleeper hit of the year. The first celebrity death of the year. The first this… The first that…

First, first, first, first, first, first, first, first.

The first winter storm of the year.

The first big winter storm of the year.

First baby born with two heads of the year.

First major political gaffe of the the year.

I’m guessing this is one of the reasons why bears hibernate until the spring: To avoid all of the “first” media news stories.

Bring on spring.

Leave a Reply

