Catching Up Is Hard to Do…

Catching Up Is Hard to Do… after the break…

Catching Up Is Hard to Do…

Where did all of my free time go? Where did all of the “Flea Market Hauls” posts go to?

I’m not dead; I’ve just been very busy and continue to be very busy. I’ll be equally busy for the near future.

Being busy, though, is no excuse not to keep all… One? More than one? person who may or may not read this blog informed of all of my decadent PC gaming purchases as of late.

So, in no particular order (although I’ll try to keep them in order), here have been all of my latest finds in the past while with, perhaps, some commentary:

UNREAL TOURNAMENT (JEWEL CASE) – $1.00

WARLORDS BATTLECRY II (JEWEL CASE) – $1.00

MASTERS OF ORION II: BATTLE AT ANTARES (JEWEL CASE) – $1.00

All of the above was from the same vendor. None of these were “Holy Grail” titles. The Masters of Orion is in a generic jewel case with no insert that probably isn’t the original jewel case. Of the three, the most anticipated was the Warlords title, if only because it was a real-time strategy, was $1 dollar and was in it’s original jewel case. How likely will I play any of these titles? Not really but Warlords would likely be the first that I would try of these titles.

GREAT BATTLES OF WWII: STALINGRAD (DVD CASE W/ CARDBOARD SLIPCOVER) – $1.00

Anyone who reads the blog knows that I have no inclination for World War II titles; They’re a dime a dozen and often not even worth that much. Having written that, for $1 dollar, this was an impressive deal and it came from a vendor who is also a part-time buyer at the flea market who usually has his eye on older console game systems and their games. So it was pretty surprising that he was letting this title go for $1 dollar. The description (DVD case w/ cardboard slipcover) doesn’t really do the physical description justice: It’s not a typical cardboard slipcover that slides over the DVD case, leaving the top and bottom exposed but surrounds the DVD case on all but one of it’s long sides and leaving room for a fairly substantial (for modern games) paper manual. The title itself is a European version of the title which, by themselves, is fairly uncommon. It is a real-time strategy so, despite the subject matter, there’s an outside chance of playing this at some point in my life.

TORCHLIGHT 1 (PAPER CD SLEEVE) – $2.00

DRAGON AGE: ORIGINS (JEWEL CASE W/ GAME MANUAL) – $2.00

I OF THE DRAGON (JEWEL CASE W/ CARDBOARD SLIPCOVER) – $4.00

OK. Let’s get the 800-pound gorilla (or should I write “Dragon”?) out of the way: Anyone who reads the blog knows that, last year, I missed out on getting this title (just a no-frills jewel case) for $5.00 before someone else snatched it up. So, imagine my surprise when this title popped up again, this time as a jewel case with a cardboard slipcover AND for $1 dollar cheaper. Sold. Acquiring this title isn’t a classic “Holy Grail” (such as, say, a big box Alien Crossfire or a Bioforge) but it does right a so-called “wrong” when I passed up the title the first time (and mostly blots out the minor snafu of a few weeks back when I passed up that older title for $5 dollars and someone snapped it up before I could go back and make a counter-offer). A title that I’ll play anytime soon? Maybe. At least I’ve got it now.

DRAGON AGE: ORIGINS and TORCHLIGHT 1 were, “$2 dollars each? OK,” sort of purchases. I knew of Dragon Age as a sort of “Elder Scrolls”-light. The manual had the CD key and, despite the DVD being in a generic slim jewel case, it seemed like a fairly safe purchase. I have no idea if there’s some sort of icky Internet copy protection scheme in order to install it or not. Playing this title is definitely on my “to do” list as it looks like a title that can be played on a Windows 7 operating system without invoking a sacred ritual or two in order for it to run properly. TORCHLIGHT 1 was somewhat of a risky purchase for me; It had no serial key or manual and that always raises the tension up a bit. I installed the darn thing just ot see how far I would get before it asked me for a serial key and, shockingly, it didn’t. TORCHLIGHT is definitely an Action-RPG and I’ll reserve comment as I want to write a much larger blog post about my impressions of the game.

COMMAND & CONQUER 3: TIBERIUM WARS (DVD CASE) – $3.00

MASS EFFECT 2 (DVD CASE) – $2.50

DRAGON AGE: ORIGINS: AWAKENING (DVD CASE) – $2.50

DRAGON AGE: ORIGINS (DVD CASE) – $1.00

SID MEIER’S PIRATES (SMALL BOX) – $1.00

Wow. Where to begin? The Tiberium Wars was from a vendor who didn’t quite know what he was selling. $3 dollars is a little steep for a title that I’m pretty certain has some sort of icky Internet copy protection. He also had a Command & Conquers: General and it’s expansion, Zero Hour although the the C&C Generals box was both empty and significantly torn. It’s a sci-fi real-time strategy, though and, if the DRM isn’t all that, than there’s a fairly good chance I’ll make a decent attempt at playing it.

The other four titles was from the vendor that I received TORCHLIGHT et all from the previous week. The Mass Effect & Awakenings title were a “2 for $5 dollar” deal. I know that Mass Effect is a modern RPG (and consolized) title but $2.50 wasn’t a bad price and it was sci-fi (I’ve since read that I don’t get the controversial “romantic” scenes in this entry of the series, but who cares about that?). My only true concern is intrusive DRM; If it’s there, than this ain’t being installed. Simple as that. Awakenings is the only major expansion pack for Dragon Age: Origins, so that was nice to pick up. The other additions to the DA:O game are small DLC packs that are supposedly akin to the infamous “horse armor” DLC that “Elder Scrolls: Oblivion” pushed out. So, if I do play DA:O, I’ll be somewhat close to having the full game experience.

So, if I already had DA:O… Why did I pay for it again? Simple: $1 dollar AND I get the DVD case (AND another manual). I also bought PIRATES! from the vendor because it was $1 dollar AND it’s manual wasn’t botched like the manual I had from my other copy.

Phew! I’m out of shape writing blog posts. Anyway, that should pretty much catch me up with a lot of my purchases. I’m not going to list what I didn’t get because, quite frankly, I can’t remember a whole lot of “If only I had offered a higher price” moments. Over the past few weeks, I feel as though that I have cleaned up fairly well.

So? Will I go back to regular “Flea Market Haul” posts? It’s possible…

Leave a Reply

