Flea Market Haul…

Flea Market Haul… after the break…

Flea Market Haul…

Did I just have my “I of the Dragon” moment for 2014?

Well, let me back up.

I have a confession to make… I really don’t want to write these posts anymore. Every week where I have to help out, even incidentally, with a vendor setting up a booth, it just takes all of the joy and wonder out of shopping at a flea market. You’re eating the sausage that you just made. The process of waking up early and altering your entire timetable as opposed to the normal timetable seems to throw everything off: My enthusiasm, my sharpness… It’s as though the flea market is no longer “real.” It’s no longer an event. It’s just “there” and I happen to be at the same place where it is at the same time.

The past 4+ weeks have been abysmal for the flea market. Low vendor turn out. Paltry (if any) deals. This week was the absolute worst of the bunch. I went in expecting absolutely nothing. Of course, there would be the usual garbage: Kids games, “The Sims,” some silly modern military titles…

I’m a player more than a collector. A part of me knows that putting a box on a shelf and having it collect dust is a silly concept. I buy to play by default and then, on uncommon exception, I snap up a “collector” piece simply because the deal is too good to pass up. I have plenty of such collector pieces. They gather dust quite nicely.

I had the chance to pick up an older title today for $5 dollars. I offered $8 for 2 titles. The counter-offer was $9 for 2 titles. That was too much for me. I walked away.

The title wasn’t playable without some sort of Win95 emulator or DOS emulator. It wasn’t a first person shooter. It wasn’t sci-fi. Just something that blissfully didn’t fall into the usual kids game / Sims / World of Warcrap / Tom Clancy’s “I Put My Name on a Strategic 3rd-person Shooter” title. By the time I went back to the booth, it was gone. I didn’t even bother asking if it had sold. I just figured that it had.

A part of me is upset over failing to buy the game but I’m not sure why. It was just going to be a box on a shelf. It wasn’t a “holy grail” of mine (Had it been, I wouldn’t be writing this because I would have bought it).

At least “I of the Dragon” was remotely playable. The possibility was there. This wasn’t.

I’ll get over it. It’s nothing to be too upset over. Somewhere in the world, horrible things are happening to perfectly nice people for no apparent reason other than that it can. Let’s get upset over those events. Getting upset because I lost out on a bargain is silly when placed in that context. It’s stupid. It’s shameful.

There’s always next week, right?

Leave a Reply

