The Year of No Gaming… Day 039…

The Year of No Gaming… Day 039… after the break…

The Year of No Gaming… Day 039…

I like the “new” Internet, whatever cute name it goes by now. Internet 2.0? 3.0? 4? Something else?

There’s a lot to like about the modern Internet. Games are so plentiful on the Internet that you don’t ever need to buy a game ever again. OK, so 99% of those free games aren’t AAA-grade titles like you’d buy from a store but at least they’re free. And it’s not just games that are free but office productivity software, utilities, music software, design software… Trust me – I don’t just like this part of the Internet, I LOVE this part of the Internet. This was the Internet that all of us secretly wanted back in the 1994-1998 era.

Sadly, there’s also a lot to dislike about the modern Internet, too. Specifically, people have learned how to monetize the Internet. Facebook taught the world that your data has monetary value. Valve taught the world how to copy protect games with Internet-copy protection AND get people to like it as well. Newspapers are increasingly hiding behind “pay walls.” YouTube (and other video content providers) makes you watch advertising before watching their YouTube clips. Want faster download speeds from Rapidshare or Mediafire or 4shared or [fill in your favorite web storage website here]? Spring for a premium account.

My personal project #02 (PP#02) involves a lot of little steps. One of those little steps involves creating a certain type of content that, quite frankly, is not very easy for me to make. There are people out there, on the Internet, who could make such content in moments. Not me. So, you’d think that I would be able to find something quick on the Internet. I’m not stealing for profit – I just wanted to see if I was artistically moving in the right direction. As it turns out, that kind of content is now behind pay walls as well. It’s all very frustrating. Yes, I’m capable of reproducing that type of content myself. It will take time and more frustration then I am willing to admit. I know that it won’t be as good as I would like for it to be.

In the old days, stuff like this was free. Not anymore. I will persevere, though. One day at a time.

Leave a Reply

