The Year of No Gaming… Day 029…

The Year of No Gaming… Day 029… after the break…

The Year of No Gaming… Day 029…

With every passing day, Personal Project #02 seems to enjoy both more progress and more frustration. It is as though I am running while standing still – All this work and still not much to show for it. I know that, somewhere, there is a tipping point in the process where everything begins to “gel,” or come together into a form that I can finally appreciate.

I have no idea when the project will finally begin to crystallize into an actual product. Have I bitten off more then I can chew? No. There’s just a lot to chew. And it’s going to take a lot of chewing in order to swallow. Quitting now would just be a waste of time; All that work for very little return.

GAMING HISTORY MOMENT:

I’m terrible at creating “mods” or, as they are otherwise known, user-generated content (aka “maps” or “levels”). Your average eighth-grader could run circles around me. Lock me in a cabin for six months (make sure I have enough food, water & other creature comforts to keep me alive and well) and I’m sure that I could hammer out a serviceable (albeit small and dull) level for whatever first-person shooter or RPG came out between 1996-2006.

I remember tinkering with a level editor for Quake III Arena a long time ago. It was so exciting to make squarish room after squarish room. I made a primitive elevator and a “pool” (I even made a little border around the pool as a “lip,” just like in real pools) and stairs (with railing). I put in lighting and a start position, too. Anyone who looked upon that level would think that it sucked mightily. I would agree but, it was my level. I had worked hard on it. Your average eighth-grader could probably burp out a better level inside of an hour with one hand tied behind their back.

That level was probably one of my most cohesive efforts at ever making a level in any game. I’ve always wondered what it would be like if I ever had more then fifteen minutes to learn level creation in a game.

Leave a Reply

