The Year of No Gaming… Day 028…

The Year of No Gaming… Day 028… after the break…

The Year of No Gaming… Day 028…

The idea behind content generation, I am learning, is to produce too much and then to scale back rather then produce “just enough” only to find out later that you don’t have enough. As artists might say, you must first paint beyond the borders before you can establish where the border is. That’s what I am doing now – Creating enough content so that when I finally begin the editing and design process, I’m not searching for fillers later.

On the downside, I need to start concentrating on making the content pretty. What’s the point of having stuff if you can’t display it cleanly and professionally?

GAMING HISTORY MOMENT:

I’m not known for being a gaming genius. I like my save and load buttons and probably wear them out far more often then average players. In my youth, I also wasn’t known for my patience – When games got too hard, I simply moved on to the next. Cheat codes have allowed me to complete a few games but only on those occasions where I got “close enough” to the end where I just wanted to see the end without having to completely re-install the game.

One of the first games that I ever completed, start to finish with absolutely, positively no cheating at all was “Dungeon Master.” At the end of the game, you have to “capture” Lord Chaos (I think that was the main villain’s name) inside a bunch of force fields. Capturing Lord Chaos (who is also fully capable of putting a hefty chink into your armor while you’re attempting to capture him in these force fields) was a pain and a half – I can’t tell you how many times I died attempting to capture him.

When I was finally able to capture Lord Chaos, I was stunned. I couldn’t believe it. I called my sister & Dad into the room to watch me defeat him. They watched in glee as I was able to do something that neither of them had been able to achieve (this was back in the era when we were all playing roughly the same games). I just remember it as sort of a nice family moment.

Leave a Reply

