The Year of No Gaming… Day 020…

The Year of No Gaming… Day 020… after the break…

The Year of No Gaming… Day 020…

Does helping someone install a computer game and testing that game out count as “playing a game?” I’ve taken a pledge not to play computer games for one year but that pledge obviously doesn’t extend to everyone else. Some of those other people are very computer not-literate and rely upon persons like myself (read: at least more literate than not-literate) to help them out.

While I’m dealing with potential conflicts, does trying to make a computer game also count as “playing a game?”

Day 20 might as well be day 1… I feel no desire to play computer games. I guess that’s a good thing. Summer-like weather (It’s not officially Summer yet) is keeping me naturally busy on all things not-computer gaming related.

PP #02 continues to progress. Yesterday could’ve gone better but even a little progress is better than no progress at all. In the case of PP #02, content generation is easier then content presentation.

GAMING HISTORY MOMENT –

There are some aspects of the Internet that I despise – Identity theft and the proliferation of computer viruses are two aspects I (and a lot of other people) could definitely live without. Yet the Internet has some good aspects to it as well. Take, for instance, patches for computer games. Yes, patches of computer games are a punchline for gamers. Practically every single large-budget computer game has needed a patch applied to them after the game’s release. Yet in the era before the Internet, before the nationwide BBSes (like Prodigy and America Online), if your game froze or crashed on you… Good luck. Support for games was hit or miss and was often far more “miss” than “hit.”

Over the course of my lifetime, I’ve had several games completely crash on me at certain parts where the game became forever unplayable. One time in particular was “Ripley’s Believe It Or Not: The Riddle of Master Lu.” It was a side-scrolling adventure game (in the vein of a King’s Quest-type game). I was 90% of the way through the game when it kept freezing up on me for some reason. There was nothing that I could do to solve the problem. Was it a bad disc? A fluke in the game that caused some conflict with my computer’s software? A fluke in the game where I chose a bunch of in-game decisions that caused the game to freeze up on itself? I’ll probably never know. I still have that game somewhere, floating around in my vast library of games.

Leave a Reply

