The Year of No Gaming… Day 014…

The Year of No Gaming… Day 014… after the break…

The Year of No Gaming… Day 014…

Two weeks in and the only reason why I feel even the slightest pang of withdrawal from gaming is that I keep focusing on the fact that I have no withdrawal symptoms. It is, for all other intents and purposes, like watching a pot of water attempt to boil. If I didn’t write every day that I had no aspirations for gaming, I probably wouldn’t even know that two weeks had passed. If people could quit smoking and drinking this easily, tobacco and alcohol executives would be jumping out of high-rise windows by the dozens.

Easy does it, though – Two weeks is nothing compared to fifty-two of them.

I had another game-playing related dream last night. All I remember was that I downloaded a game from the Internet and that it turned out to be a virus. The virus refused to let me turn off my computer. Fortunately, I woke up and, upon awakening, was relieved that my computer was safe and sound.

GAMING HISTORY MOMENT –

I remember that, in one of the Ultima games (I’m guessing Ultima III but wouldn’t be surprised if it was IV), you had the chance to own and ride in a balloon. Balloons were great; You could travel over water and, if I remember correctly, not be affected by water-based enemies. Yet balloons had one drawback – You were powerless to steer them. Enjoy going in random directions for who-knows-how-long. There was a dungeon in the game that was inaccessible except by balloon. Good luck landing in the one or two spots where you could land to get to that dungeon. I remember waiting for what felt like hours until the balloon passed over that land. When I finally did land the balloon, I felt like I had just won the lottery.

Leave a Reply

