The Year of No Gaming… Day 005…

The Year of No Gaming… Day 005… after the break…

The Year of No Gaming… Day 005…

The problem with the season of summer, quite frankly, is that it is warm and sunny. Outdoor projects aplenty emerge once the snow melts and that means Real Life interfering with your bestest of plans. “Bestest of plans,” in my case, means working on Personal Project #01 (PP #01). I can’t promise any work on PP #01 tonight but I’ll try. Anything is possible.

I am wondering how the gaming world will be different on June 1, 2014. Yesterday, I related on what it would take for me to get back into gaming earlier then my stated goal of one year. While these reasons wouldn’t be enough to tempt to break my promise, I can tell you that I would be awfully eager to try these projects out at 12:01 AM, June 1, 2014:

  • Standalone The Dark Mod: “The Dark Mod” is the “Thief” franchise (the first two games) without the intellectual property, updated to fit on the DOOM 3 engine. Quite honestly, once The Dark Mod becomes standalone (meaning that you wouldn’t need to buy DOOM 3 in order to play the game)… Well, that closes the book on even wanting the increasingly troubled and consolized “Thief 4.”
  • The Dark Mod single player campaign: One of the things that has held The Dark Mod back towards gaining greater acceptance is the fact that it is more a framework and editor then an actual “game.” Think of The Dark Mod as a DVD player rather then as an actual DVD. Yes, The Dark Mod comes with a tutorial but that’s not really a game (or a “mission,” in Dark Mod lingo). I know that the single player campaign has had it’s ups and downs (mostly downs, from what I understand) but I hope that development continues and is completed by June 1, 2014.
  • OpenMW 1.0: I like Elder Scroll IV’s “Oblivion” graphics but I enjoyed Elder Scroll III’s “Morrowind” game play depth. I haven’t had the “privilege” of playing Elder Scroll V because it is locked in the Steam Tower. OpenMW won’t be a graphical upgrade to Morrowind but it will open up that distinct possibility. Will it be ready in time for June 1st? Probably not but, even if it isn’t, it will be a lot closer to 1.0 then it is right now.
  • 0 A.D. 1.0: I feel like I have waited for this game to be 1.0 status since I first walked onto the Internets. This real-time strategy game looks to be promising and progressing nicely. I love rooting for long-in-the-tooth projects that go big and deliver: This project is one of those.

I know that I am probably missing a few promising projects here. A team of programmers, for instance, is making a spiritual successor for “Star Wars: Battlefront 2.” Maybe I’ll add to this list as I remind myself of more promising projects.

GAMING HISTORY MEMORY MOMENT: My family’s first home computer (yes, that’s what they were called back then) was in my parent’s kitchen. I was stunned that my parents bought a home computer; It was quite a rarity to own one. It was as though we had entered the 21st century that moment, the feeling was that futuristic. I just remember repeating, “Wow, I can’t believe this!” or some other similar phrases in absolute amazement.

Leave a Reply

