The Rant – Death of Bethesda To Me…

The Rant – Death of Bethesda To Me after the break…

The Rant – Death of Bethesda To Me…

A long time ago, I used to post daily and a lot of my posts were rather opinionated. I got away from such postings because I ran out of creative topics to rant about and the style of the rantings just didn’t suit me.

Then, my postings went in the opposite direction, posting only clinical reviews of media like movies, television shows, games, mods, etc. The problem with posting only when you’ve written a comprehensive review is that the posts are few and far between. Also, the motivation to create such a review is a rather high barrier – Do I really want to write for an hour to compose something that someone could read in 10 minutes and most won’t read halfway through? The costs don’t justify the rewards.

So, I’m going to experiment and split the difference. On some days, I’m just going to go on a somewhat-crazed rant and on other days I’ll post a clinical and thoughtful review.

“The Rant” is going to be that – A mind-dump of my views. A complete, total opinion and one that a lot of people won’t agree with. I’ll warn everyone right now that my blog isn’t a democracy – If you write a reply and don’t see it, odds are that I deleted or ignored it. Don’t like that? Get your own blog.

The Death of Bethesda To Me…

I think it’s official – I’m quitting the btich known as “Bethesda.” Let me explain.

See, Bethesda uses Steam. Steam is DRM or “Digital Rights Management.” DRM is business executive code for “software copy protection.” It’s the code wheels, serial numbers, game manual checks for the 21st century.

With Steam, you don’t own your game. Period. I know there are a lot of Steam fanbois out there who will try to convince me otherwise. Here’s a hint – You won’t. Here’s what you can’t do with a Steam game: Buy it from a store. Install it onto your non-Internet connected computer. Play the game. To me, being able to perform the prior-mentioned steps constitutes “owning a game.” If I can’t own a game, then I don’t want to buy it because, technically, I didn’t buy it. There is nothing to buy. Imagine if you had to call Ford (or Chrysler, or GM, or fill in whatever car company you want here) every time you wanted to buy or sell a Ford automobile. Or if I had to have a talk with Sony every time I wanted to turn on my television. Want to bake something in that oven? Call Sears first. Want some cereal out of that cereal box? Better check with General Mills or Kellogg to make sure that’s OK.

I know that kids are stupid. I get that. They’ll fall for anything because I was a kid once and I fell for a lot of stupid marketing tactics back then. McDonalds played me like a fiddle for years. Star Wars grabbed my parent’s wallets and threw back what it didn’t want. Atari used me like a bank account.

Yet even for back then, I owned everything I bought. I didn’t need Hasbro’s permission to play with my action figures. There was no hot line with 20th Century Fox to approve whatever play time I had using stormtroopers or jedi knights. Whenever I read a book, I just – read – it without worrying if the company I bought it from would rip it out of my hands because they realized there might be a copyright violation or terms of service violation.

Times are different now, unfortunately. They’re conditioning kids to accept a new paradigm that you don’t really own anything anymore. That game? It’s Valve’s and they’re just giving you the privilege of playing it because they’re nice. That book? Read it all you want until the Kindle decides it shouldn’t be on your e-book reader anymore. That app? Who knows when Apple will change their mind and suddenly delete it because it causes controversy or, in hindsight, they just plain don’t like it. Heck, you don’t even get a physical product anymore and they’ve gotten a chunk of the population to like that. It’s all just 1’s and 0’s that you’re buying and nothing else.

I really wanted to buy “Fallout: New Vegas” and “Skyrim” from Bethesda. I really did. Those were two games I was looking forward to. However, it looks like they’re going to be locked away in the Steam Tower forever. That’s Bethesda’s choice. They can do with their software as they please. However, just as they have the right to rent (that’s what they’re doing, “renting” it to you) their software, I have the right not to buy it. At all.

In fact, there are a lot of games held in the Steam Prison that I would have loved to have owned. But I can’t. Because of Steam. And that’s why I’m quitting this btich. And Bethesda isn’t the only btich I’m quitting… Isn’t that right, “iD” or is “Id”? It doesn’t matter – Don’t you like it how their tune of “We’re unabashedly PC game designers” has changed within the last few years and especially for their latest release, “Rage”?

I know that there’s a silver lining with everything in life or so we’re constantly told. I didn’t want a “silver lining” (which is really just a quaint way of saying “consolation prize”), though – I wanted to buy your games. I wanted to play your games. But I can’t because I’m one of those “old fuddie-duddies” who thinks you should actually own what you buy. Yes, the money that would have gone into some game store’s pocket and, ultimately, your pocket will eventually go into someone else’s pocket but most likely not in the same industry. That’s not the point – The point is that money could have been your money. I wanted to give you the money but you didn’t want to give me the game. And that’s weird considering that you’re the one wanting to sell me the game.

So, that’s why I’m quitting you. Period. Sadly, it appears no one else is but that’s the way life works. Someday, the kids of today will grow up to be the adults of tomorrow. Will they be able to pull games out of a chest like people can pull books off of a shelf and appreciate them? Probably not. That’s where the real tragedy will occur, in accepting the paradigm that art is meant to be fleeting and not cherished, to be forgotten and not remembered.

Leave a Reply

