Nehrim Gone…

Nehrim Gone After the Break…

Nehrim Gone…

Today, I deleted the total conversion, “Nehrim: At Fate’s Edge,” off of my hard drive without any reluctance. I hadn’t played the game in a while and I couldn’t find a single reason to keep the game on my hard drive.

First, I’d like to mention that I didn’t delete the program because it was lousy in any way. The people behind this total conversion ought to be commended for their effort. I hope that they produce a similar effort when “Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim” is available.

However, I discovered two facets about myself upon the realization that I wanted to delete the game:

  • I can not devote a lot of time to games anymore. Honestly, I think this was the prime reason why this game had to be removed. Without the “fast travel” feature, this game turned into nothing more then a dungeon crawl interrupted by moments of selling items that I didn’t need. When I play RPGs nowadays, I need to get to the plot and quests faster. Running back and forth may be realistic but it wastes time and, more importantly, wastes my time which has become more precious to me as I get older and have more “real world” responsibilities. I need to get to the city NOW; I need to start the quest NOW; I need to sell the items NOW. Running around and fighting creatures to get to those objectives just isn’t fun for me because it takes time away from the fun.
  • My computer is too slow for the game. If “Oblivion” was a speed limit sign, mod designers must be those 17-year old drivers in an angry mood who want to prove to their prospect mates (sexual or otherwise) that they are mature by driving well above the speed limit. As a result, I don’t think that there was a single moment during that game where I didn’t feel that the game was ever fully fluid for me – There was always some level of choppiness to it unless I was in such a small load zone as to make such a difference inconsequential. When I walked into the Middlerealm capital, I could hear the fan on my computer rev up so loud that I thought that my computer was going to lift off of my desk and fly away like a helicopter. In hindsight, I’m glad that I didn’t accidentally melt the innards of my computer (as some poor souls have done to their computers while pursuing similar goals).

Will I re-load this mod once I obtain a faster computer? I don’t know. Maybe. Maybe not.  I’m glad I had the opportunity to play this mod, though, and my own personal experiences shouldn’t harshly influence your own decisions. If you have the time and a hefty enough gaming computer (along with a legal copy of “Elder Scrolls 4: Oblivion”), then there’s no reason not to at least look at this total conversion simply for the sheer wonder of what it must be like to build a full-sized game.

9 Responses to “Nehrim Gone…”

  1. Phitt Says:

    While I could live with the lack of fast travel (although I have to admit that it was indeed annoying at times) I completely agree with your performance concerns. My computer is not bad (for a 2011 computer!) and still the framerate was low to really low most of the time. I simply can’t enjoy a game if my framerate drops below 30 FPS constantly (even heavily modded Oblivion gives me a framerate of 40+).

    I think what they did wrong is that they wanted to make the most beautiful and detailed world they could think of without thinking about the capabilities of the engine at all. It simply wasn’t made for having 4x the amount of objects the original game had. It looks nice on a screenshot, but to me it’s unplayable.

    In my opinion a good mod is not only about the looks, astounding visuals are relatively easy to achieve if you drop enough clutter into a scene. The art is to make the mod look as good as possible (!) while still keeping the performance at an acceptable level. Nehrim failed in that regard. They simply added all the details they could think of and never looked back.

    One more reason why I deleted Nehrim is the gameplay. I spent a lot of time to transform Oblivion into a game I’d really like to play. With Nehrim I would have had to start all over again. The battles were long and boring, the leveling system was not my taste and the menus were neither. Modding all that to make it enjoyable for me would take a long time, time I’m not willing to spend for a mod.

    Nehrim is a fantastic effort for sure, but I think they should have left the gameplay changes to other mods and they should have paid attention to performance instead of simply cluttering up the world like crazy so it looks nice on a screenshot.

    • Lutonaut Says:

      Hi and thanks for reading my blog.

      “Nehrim: At Fate’s Edge” is a very impressive mod and any critiques of that mod are not made to dilute the Herculean effort it must have taken to have created it. However, as I stated earlier, the lack of a clear “fast travel” option really dulled my ability to appreciate it fully. As I grow older, I simply do not have the time to walk (or run) from place to place over and over and over again. As soon as I began to find myself cheating in the game, I knew that the end was near. At first, I told myself, “I’m only going to cheat to go from place to place and that’s it.” Then it was, “I’m only going to cheat to avoid fighting the mundane creatures so I can get to the places I need to go faster.”

      The turning point for me, however, was getting past what appeared to be rock golems of some kind to complete a quest. First, you had to fight them conventionally. Then, you had to use a special dagger to injure them and then… I forget because there were a lot of rules and I just said, “To heck with it. I’m cheating to get past this part.” At that point, I knew that I was finished with the mod because my frustration level had been reached.

      I wasn’t really turned off by the game play. I didn’t mind the individual mechanisms that they employed, such as the hunting books or the way you leveled up or anything like that (with the exception, of course, of “fast travel”). I suppose it would have been nice to have had a definitive way of knowing what “zone” you were in, a mere imaginary line separated you from fighting weak wolves and wolves that could kill you in five attacks or less. The only way you could really know what zone you were in was to enter a dungeon and then to leave it and, by leaving it, then it would tell you what appropriate levels that zone was for.

      I’m quite surprised to hear that modern computers also struggle to play the mod at a smooth frame rate. I have to admit that I have a more antiquated computer that has entered it’s twilight years so I tried not to be too harsh on the mod in that sense, knowing that it was probably designed with more modern rigs in mind.

      At any rate, the mod was very interesting while it lasted. Anyone with a hefty computer and a whole lot of time on their hands (along with a legitimate copy of “Oblivion”) should at least give it a look.

      Again, thank you for reading my blog.

  2. Blaine Says:

    This game is awesome with the Fast travel mod. I also added the Cloud tower which is so rad. This is the mod that Oblivion could never be… I hope the Bethesda crew do justice with Skyrim or I’ll be a very sad person 😥

  3. Blaine Says:

    I want to add, I have the latest version of Nehrim 1.1.1.1 and it shows the difficulty level of each zone on the world map up top.

    and yes i forgot to say most people were upset that the Nehrim crew didn’t leave the Fast Travel option open for us. I know I don’t want to deal with learning how to use those portals and teleporters…

    The only problem I have with Nehrim is not being able to drop items that you already picked up… or i just don’t know what button it is to drop items…

    • Lutonaut Says:

      Hi Blane and thanks for reading my blog.

      With every passing day my memory of Nehrim fades a little bit. While I can never write that I’ll never install this mod again, I’m hard-pressed to find a concrete reason why. Adding fast-travel into the game was a nice concession for those of us who can’t devote countless hours towards a particular video game and might compel me to take another look at it eventually.

      One concern that I have, though, is a trait that a lot of mod makers tend to have with Oblivion, which is to make overly-complicated quests that the engine simply can not handle cleanly. Take, for instance, the quest that sort of broke the illusion of Nehrim for me – Fighting special rock golems that required all sorts of fancy instructions. Games that frustrate me for a prolonged period of time no longer fascinate me – They just add another reason why they shouldn’t be on my hard drive.

      As for Skyrim, I hope Bethesda doesn’t follow Obsidian’s lead and turn it into a Steam title. I have yet to convince my brain that Steam is a good thing. I would happily buy a slew of “steam” titles if I could also buy a completely DRM-free version of said title and play that instead. Also, since I abhor buying anything zero-day, I’ll just wait until the inevitable Skyrim GOTY comes out.

      Again, thank you for reading my blog.

  4. bjsfavoriterpgs Says:

    Hi, just commented on an older post you made about Nehrim. I completely agree with the annoyance of not being able to fast travel.
    However, the game is fast enough on my computer. I remember Oblivion getting into stutter mode when there were a lot of enemies around, but I haven’t experienced that yet in Nehrim, and I’ve got the video options on a high level of detail. My computer isn’t all that great–just cost a little under $1,000, can’t reel off the specs off the top of my head. I do notice a little stutter sometimes, but it’s still playable.

    • Lutonaut Says:

      Hi bj and thanks for reading my blog.

      I’m glad that you can play Nehrim relatively smoothly. That smoothness just didn’t occur for me unless I was in a very small zone. Even then, my cooling fan sounded as though it was going lift my desktop completely off the desk and fly into the air. A modern-day $1K computer is very advanced for what I currently have now. Perhaps when I get a new computer, my opinions will change about re-installing Oblivion / Nehrim. Time will tell.

      Again, thank you for reading my blog.

  5. SH Says:

    Agree, the whole teleportation spell thingy is just annoying. I downloaded the fast travel mod though, but since its a mod, the fast travelling might cause problems, specially if you fast travel to cities.

    Glad to hear Im not the only one with low fps btw!!

    Another thing that you didnt mention. Is it just me or are the ennemies incredebly hard? Since Ive been playing Oblivion since it was released, Im just sick of fighting random creatures all the time, i just want to get to the quests. Consenquently, I get pwned everytime I encounter more than one creature (just entered the NOrthrealm); when youre level 11 and the ennemies are from 25 to 30, it gets kinda hard..

    • Lutonaut Says:

      Hi SH, and thanks for reading my blog.

      If I remember correctly, the land was split into various “zones” that were appropriate for various level ranges. Although I did wander out of my appropriate level range zone a few times, I found out definitively that the developers meant what they wrote when they advised which “zone” was for which level range. My guess is that they really intended for the player to stay in their designated zone until they got very close to the limit or even a little past it. I’ve been informed that since I’ve played the game, the developers have made it a little easier for the player to tell which zone they are in. Considering the style of game that the developers intended, their improvement for telling the player what zone they are in is a welcome improvement and may aid my decision in whether or not I re-install this mod.

      Nehrim definitely did not play well on my older computer which did significantly factor into my decision for ultimately uninstalling it. I understand that developers always want to push the limitations of the software that they are using for a variety of reasons: To attract gamers, to properly realize their vision of how the game is to look, etc. Unfortunately, such visual effects have their consequences and my computer felt that every time I played the game. Although I will never write “never,” I’m not certain if I will re-install the game on my present computer. I was surprised to hear that Nehrim tends not to perform well on even modern computers which, if true, does not bode well for it’s chances of being re-installed.

      Again, thank you for reading my blog.

Leave a Reply

