Fallout: New Vegas…

Fallout: New Vegas after the break…

Fallout: New Vegas…

I know about this software title and I’ve known about it ever since it’s been announced. I’ve tried hard not to write anything about it but I figure I’d write something about it now that it’s been available for the past few days.

  1. I do not have it nor do I intend to get it until there is a “Game of the Year” (GOTY) edition that has all of the downloadable content (DLC) in it. There’s no point in getting the game until it is the “complete” game.
  2. I have no intention of installing “Steam” onto my computer. I’m not a strong advocate for digital rights management (DRM) and it has prevented me from buying a few titles as those titles are tied to ever-restrictive DRMs. In many forms of life, you are now presumed guilty until proven innocent. Since I have a choice as to what I install onto my computer, my choice is to buy software that respects me as a consumer.
  3. From what I’ve read, Fallout: New Vegas is more “morally neutral” then the good guy-bad guy plot of “Brotherhood of Steel vs. the Enclave” in Fallout 3. Believe it or not, I don’t know if that’s a good thing: As I get older, I sort of like knowing that who I’m rooting for is good and who I’m fighting for is not as good. I guess it goes back to time management – When you’re young, it’s OK to waste time in a constructive manner. When you get older, you want your time to count, you want your actions to count and when you put money down onto the table, you want to know that what you’re buying is a good product. Maybe there’s a bit of a generational gap . I don’t know.

I suppose, at some point, I’ll buy F:NV, even with “Steam,” if the price drops low enough. The GOTY edition of Oblivion is around $19.99 in some places and obviously cheaper if you buy it from on-line. That’s roughly 4 years ago so, by 2014, I’ll have definitely taken a look at it. Maybe.

Until then, I’ve got Fallout 3. That’s close enough for me.

Leave a Reply

