Mothership Zeta, Take 1…

Mothersip Zeta, Take 1… After the break…

Mothership Zeta (Fallout 3 DLC)…
Of all the DLCs that I had been looking forward to, “Mothership Zeta” probably was it. It had that whole “retro-futuristic” look to it, it involved aliens… It looked really neat.

However, when I actually finally got to play it… Ehh… Not so much.

I just don’t know. It was more “run & gun” like “Operation: Anchorage” was – Enter room, kill aliens, enter new room, kill more aliens… Wash, rinse, repeat…

I just can’t get into the whole “pseudo-FPS” thing when playing an RPG. I just can’t. It took me two days to get back into synch after I had completed the “Look but don’t Touch” mentality that O:A drilled into you. Mothership Zeta is only a little better but not by much.

After a few days, I had to call it quits on MZ because it seriously was deflating my enthusiasm for playing the game. That’s too bad – I’ve read some nice things about some of the objectives you have to perform to complete that DLC. However, the “run around, shoot everything” mentality at the beginning is exactly the thing I want to avoid after being submerged in it with O:A.

I’ll get back to MZ at some point in time, maybe. Until then, I guess the next DLC I’ll aim for is The Pitt, if only because there’s no player housing in Point Outlook (500 caps per trip there? I’ll stay home until I find a house mod there, thanks) & you can’t even access Broken Steel unless you’ve played through the Main Quest which is something I’ve been trying to avoid for awhile.

And, yes, I know my shallow complaints ring hollow because there are people starving elsewhere in the world right now. Thanks for reminding me of that.

