The Happening (2008 movie)…

The Happening (2008 movie) after the break…

The Happening (2008 movie)…

Admittedly, I have a soft spot for post-apocalyptic media. Therefore, if I don’t tear M. Night Shamaly… I have no clue how to spell his name. The name is long & begins with “S.” Since I know I’m never going to get brownie points in Heaven for memorizing how to spell his name, just go to IMDB & figure it out yourself.

Everyone likes to tear this M. Night guy a new ashsole whenever a new day ending in “-y” appears. It’s not exactly difficult to see why, though – Every movie he makes is sort of like an overly-long modern remake of a Twilight Zone episode. If you don’t know what “The Twilight Zone” TV series is, it was a TV series where every episode had a zinger at the end of it.

Anyway, if you like your analogies all things baseball, “The Happening” is sort of like M. Night’s first rehab start coming off of the disabled list. It’s not good, it’s not bad… It’s just sort of there. Since that doesn’t equate to “suck,” I guess that would mean a victory on his part.

The premise of “The Happening” is very interesting – People in New York City just start killing themselves for no good reason. A science school teacher, his maybe-cheating wife & his fellow science-teaching colleague all high-tail it out of New York City so that they can meet up with the science colleague’s wife in Princeton. Carnage, naturally, ensues & supporting players are added & subtracted every time you see the wind blows.

I have to admit – This wasn’t a bad film. Everyone likes bashing M. Night nowadays like everyone liked bashing Kevin Costner during the mid-to-late 1990’s. However, I didn’t see a lot of other A-list stars making movies like Waterworld & The Postman. Similarly, I think that there was a lot of potential in “The Happening” & more of that potential is on the screen then off.

Gushing aside, though, I really didn’t care for the troubled marriage side-plot of the movie. Here, let me make this simple for you to figure out – Who is the star of this movie? Mark Wahlberg? No. The suicides & the graphic ways people are committing suicides is the star of this movie. THAT’S what should have been focused on. I think that the “Are these the terrorists?” was played up just a hint too much. A little bit of that goes a long way & there was a bit more of that then I could handle. I don’t think that sort of mentality will age well in future years but you don’t make movies for audiences 30 years from now.

Again, there was a lot here that was nice but it just wasn’t played up as much as I’d like to have seen it. For instance, I liked the phone call from that student at Princeton. You can’t see what she’s describing & that’s what makes it worthwhile. The graphic suicides are also shocking & surprisingly well-done. Again, I can’t be harsh – There’s a lot in this film that was alright. Not spectaculas but alright.

In the end, I thought that it was a nice enough film. I was glad to fast-forward through the troubled marriage bit because that always stopped the movie cold. However, the rest of the movie was entertaining enough.

Tags:


